Skip Navigation
Graduate Student Association Officers

Presidents:

Brian Foster
Kivan Polimis


GPSF Representative:

Autumn McClellan


Faculty Recruitment and Selection Committee:

Sarah Gaby
Charles Seguin


Graduate Studies Committee:

Jonathan Horowitz
Jordan Radke


Tech Liaison:

Sarah Gaby

Michael Good


Faculty Administration

Chair
Howard Aldrich, Kenan Professor 
155 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-5044
howard_aldrich@unc.edu


Associate Chair
Lisa Pearce, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 966-1450
ldpearce@unc.edu


Director of Graduate Studies
Charles Kurzman, Professor 
227 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1241
kurzman@unc.edu


Director of Undergraduate Studies
Karolyn Tyson, Associate Professor 
264 Hamilton Hall 
(919) 962-5601
kdtyson@email.unc.edu


Coordinator, Undergraduate Honors Program
Karolyn Tyson, Associate Professor 
264 Hamilton Hall 
(919) 962-5601
kdtyson@email.unc.edu


Director, Summer School
Lisa Pearce, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 966-1450
ldpearce@unc.edu


Graduate Placement
263 Hamilton Hall
919-962-4524
margarita7@unc.edu


Library/Book Chair
Charles Kurzman, Professor
227 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1241
kurzman@unc.edu


Equal Employment Opportunity Officer
Andrew Perrin, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-6876
andrew_perrin@unc.edu


Pre-IRB Review Chair
Guang Guo, Professor
166 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1246
guang_guo@unc.edu


Editor of Social Forces
Arne Kalleberg, Professor
261 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-0630
social_forces@unc.edu


Book Review Editor, Social Forces
Neal Caren, Assistant Professor
225 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-8184
sfbooks@unc.edu


Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size
    photo of
    Kathleen M Harris
    James Haar Professor, Interim Director, Carolina Population Center
    Office: 201 Hamilton Hall
    Mail: 155 Hamilton Hall CB 3210
    Chapel Hill, NC 27599
    work(919) 962-1388 (phone)
    fax(919) 962-5660 (fax)

    Area of Interest:

    Social Demography, Poverty, Family, Public Policy.

    Education:

    Ph.D University of Pennsylvania, 1988

    Professional Background:

    Social Demography, Poverty, Family, Public Policy;
    The demography of poverty; Women, work, and welfare; Implications of maternal employment and welfare receipt for children in poor families; Consequences of adolescent fertilitiy; Paternal involvement in parenting and children's well-being.

    Related Links:

    Document Actions