Skip Navigation
Graduate Student Association Officers

Presidents:

Kristen Schorpp
Holly Straut Eppsteiner


GPSF Representative:

Taylor Brown


Faculty Recruitment and Selection Committee:

Sarah Gaby
Charles Seguin


Graduate Studies Committee:

Autumn McClellan
Batool Zaidi


Tech Liaison:

Michael Schultz


Faculty Administration

Department Chair
Kenneth (Andy) Andrews
155 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1008
kta@unc.edu


Associate Chair
Lisa Pearce, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 966-1450
ldpearce@unc.edu


Director of Graduate Studies
Charles Kurzman, Professor 
227 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1241
kurzman@unc.edu


Director of Undergraduate Studies
Howard Aldrich
202 Hamilton Hall 
(919) 962-5044
howard_aldrich@unc.edu


Coordinator, Undergraduate Honors Program
Howard Aldrich
202 Hamilton Hall 
(919) 962-5044
howard_aldrich@unc.edu


Director, Summer School
Lisa Pearce, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 966-1450
ldpearce@unc.edu


Graduate Placement
Neal Caren
212 Hamilton Hall
919-962-8184
neal.caren@unc.edu


Library/Book Chair
Charles Kurzman, Professor
227 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1241
kurzman@unc.edu


Equal Employment Opportunity Officer
Andrew Perrin, Associate Professor
159 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-6876
andrew_perrin@unc.edu


Pre-IRB Review Chair
Guang Guo, Professor
166 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-1246
guang_guo@unc.edu


Editor of Social Forces
Arne Kalleberg
261 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-0630
social_forces@unc.edu


Book Review Editor, Social Forces
Chris Bail
225 Hamilton Hall
(919) 962-2482
sfbooks@unc.edu


Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size
    photo of
    Philip Morgan
    Professor, Director of Carolina Population Center
    Office: 216 Hamilton Hall
    Mail: 155 Hamilton Hall CB 3210
    Chapel Hill, NC 27599
    work(919) 966-1710 (phone)

    S. Philip Morgan
    Professor of Sociology 
    216 Hamilton Hall, CB#3210 
    University of North Carolina 
    Chapel Hill, NC  27599 
    Director of Carolina Population Center 
    524-A University Square East 
    123 W. Franklin Street, 
    Chapel Hill, NC, 27516-2424 
    (919) 966-1710) 
    morganp@email.unc.edu

    Documents Online:

      • Morgan, S. Philip. and Kellie. Hagewen. 2005a. "Is Very Low Fertility Inevitable in America?
      • Insights and Forecasts From An Integrative Model of Fertility." Pp3-28 in The New Population Problem: Why Families in Developed Counties are Shrinking and What it Means., edited by A. Booth and A. C. Crouter. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
      • Morgan, S. Philip. 2003. "Is low fertility a 21st century demographic crisis? (PAA Presidential Address)." Demography 40:589.603. NIHMS185195
      • Quesnel-Vallée Amélie, Morgan S Philip. Missing the target? Correspondence of fertility intentions and behavior in the U.S. Population Research and Policy Review. 2003;22:497–525.
      • Rindfuss, Ronald R., Karen Benjamin Guzzo, and S. Philip Morgan. 2003. "The changing institutional context of low fertility." Population Research and Policy Review 22:411- 438.

      Related Links:

      Philip Morgan's CV

      Philip Morgan's Google Scholar Profile

        Document Actions