UNC at Chapel Hill currently works with a two-tier advising system.  First, students have departmental advisers from whom they receive assistance in selecting courses to satisfy their major requirements.  In addition, students are assigned to an advising team in the Academic Advising Programs in the General College and the College of Arts and Sciences (Steele Building).  You should meet with one of these advisers in the Steele Building at least once a year to make sure you are on track to graduate.

If you are trying to decide what classes to register for, check out the Tarheel Tracker program in Connect Carolina. The Tarheel Tracker gives you personally customized information on what general education and sociology requirements you have and have not fulfilled, how transfer credits count toward requirements, etc. The Tarheel Tracker is a great tool to use before your advising session.

Sociology Department Advising

For questions regarding the Sociology curriculum and requirements, contact the Director or Assistant Director of the Sociology Undergraduate Program.  Please be sure to include your PID in the email.

Howard Aldrich – Director of Undergraduate Studies
202 Hamilton Hall
Email:  howard_aldrich@unc.edu

Claire Chipman – Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
214 Hamilton Hall
Email:  cchipman@live.unc.edu


Academic Advising Program

The Academic Advising Program is located in the Steele Building on main campus.  All Sociology majors are assigned to the Social and Behavioral Sciences division which is conveniently located on the first floor.

For questions regarding the General College and Arts & Sciences Perspective Courses, university requirements for graduation, and interpretation of university rules and regulations (such as eligibility criteria), contact the one of the Social and Behavioral Science Advisors:

Barbara Lucido – Assistant Dean
1002 Steele Building
blucido@email.unc.edu

Carolyn Covalt – Senior Advisor
1005 Steele Building
covalt@email.unc.edu

Melissa Edwards – Advisor
1017B Steele Building
melissa_edwards@unc.edu

George Maitland – Advisor
1003 Steele Building
gmaitlan@email.unc.edu

Rachael Murphey-Brown – Advisor
1008 Steele Building
ramurphe@email.unc.edu

Dennis Soberl – Advisor
1007 Steele Building
soberl@email.unc.edu

Linwood Webster – Advisor
1017C Steele Building
lwebster@email.unc.edu

Andre Wesson – Advisor
1015C Steele Building
wesson@email.unc.edu

Click here for Arts & Sciences Advising Schedule