Skip to main content

UNC Sociology @ 100


Friday, April 17, 2020

12:00-1:00pm: Courtney Boen (University of Pennsylvania) at the Carolina Population Center’s Interdisciplinary Research Seminar

4:00-6:00pm: Opening Reception at Top of the Hill with remarks from Terry Rhodes, Rudi Colloredo-Mansfeld, and John Shelton Reed

Saturday, April 18, 2020

Breakfast (8:00-9:00)

Opening Remarks (9:00-9:15)

Kevin Guskiewicz, Chancellor, University of North Carolina

Population: (9:15-10:45)

Moderator: Kathie Harris

Sara Curran (Professor, Director, Center for Studies in Demography & Ecology, Jackson School of International Studies, University of Washington)

Sandra Hofferth (Research Professor, Maryland Population Research Center)

Margaret Mueller (President and CEO at The Executives’​ Club of Chicago)

Charles Nam (Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus, Florida State University)

Inequality: (11:00-12:30)

Moderator: Karolyn Tyson

Karl Alexander (John Dewey Professor Emeritus Sociology Academy Professor, Johns Hopkins University)

Jill Bouma (Professor of Sociology, Department Chair, Berea College)

Michael Gaddis (Assistant Professor of Sociology, UCLA)

Stephanie Moller (Professor of Sociology, Department Chair, UNC Charlotte)

Lunch (12:30-2:00)

Social and Political Change: (2:00-3:15)
Moderator: Charlie Kurzman

Glen Elder (Odum Distinguished Research Professor of Sociology, UNC Chapel Hill)

David Cunningham (Professor of Sociology, Department Chair, Washington University of St. Louis)

Ali Kadivar (Assistant Professor of Sociology and International Studies, Boston College)

Looking Forward: Opportunities and Challenges (3:30-4:45)

Moderator: Arne Kalleberg

Hedy Lee (Professor of Sociology, Department Chair, Washington University of St. Louis)

Rory McVeigh (Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor in Sociology, University of Notre Dame)

Jim Moody (Robert O. Keohane Professor of Sociology, Duke University)

Kate Weisshaar (Assistant Professor of Sociology, UNC Chapel Hill)

Reception and Dinner (6:00-9:00)

Reflections from Arne Kalleberg, Howard Aldrich, and Andy Andrews