Skip to main content

We would like to extend a special congratulations to our 2011-2012 Alpha Kappa Delta initiates!

  • Mariel Brooke Beroth
  • Carol Morgan Cook
  • Rebekah Grace Cooper
  • Anneke Hampton Demmink
  • Justin Gregory Kamens
  • Christopher Raymond Koller
  • Emily Allison Lamb
  • La’Naeschia T. O’Rear
  • Alisha Susanne Robinson
  • Charles Hodges Rosemond
  • Rachel Christine Rowe
  • Sarah Jean Schonert
  • Alicia Averette Thompson
  • Leslie Ann Willis
  • Elizabeth Marie Wormald

UNC Sociology recently celebrated the initiates’ induction into the Alpha Kappa Delta Society with a dinner at 411 West.  In attendance from the Department were Karolyn Tyson, Director of Undergraduate Studies; Howard Aldrich, Department Chair; Penny Aldrich; and graduate student Michael Gaddis, who is also an AKD member and recently won 2nd place prize in the AKD graduate student competition.

Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) International Sociology Honor Society was founded at the University of Southern California in 1920 by Dr. Emory S. Bogardus and became affiliated with the Association of College Honor Societies in 1967.  AKD seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition.

Comments are closed.