Skip to main content

Robert Hummer to join UNC Sociology Department

January 27, 2015

Robert (Bob) Hummer will be joining the UNC Sociology Department July 2015 as the Howard W. Odum Professor of Sociology and a fellow of the Carolina Population Center. Hummer is a sociologist and demographer whose research centers on health and mortality … Continued

Kathie Harris Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

October 20, 2014

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Those elected today bring the total number of active … Continued

Claire Yang wins PAA’s Early Achievement Award

October 20, 2014

Claire Yang has won the 2014 Population Association of America Early Achievement Award. The award recognizes the career of a promising scholar who is a member of PAA and who received the Ph.D. in the previous ten years.  The Award … Continued

Aldrich honored by Mid Sweden University

October 20, 2014

UNC sociologist Howard Aldrich will receive an honorary degree from Mid Sweden University on Oct. 10. Aldrich is the Kenan Professor and chair of the department of sociology in UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences and an adjunct professor of … Continued

Judith Blau Wins 2013 Pauli Murray Human Relations Award

October 20, 2014

The Orange County Human Relations Commission has selected Judith Blau to receive the 2013 Pauli Murray Human Relations Award for the individual category.  The Pauli Murray Award is presented annually to an Orange County adult(individual), youth, and business that has … Continued

Moira Johnson wins NSF fellowship

October 20, 2014

Moira Johnson has been selected to receive a 2014 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship. Her selection was based on her outstanding abilities and accomplishments, as well as her  potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality … Continued

Kathie Harris Wins Warren E. Miller Award

October 20, 2014

On October 10th, Kathie Harris was awarded the Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences, a biennial award from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) to recognize individuals who have had a profound … Continued