Skip to main content

The Sociology Department calls on the UNC Board of Trustees to review and approve Nikole Hannah-Jones’ appointment as a tenured faculty member at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill. We join faculty, students, staff, and alumni who are alarmed by the treatment of Nikole Hannah-Jones’ appointment and urge the Board of Trustees to begin repairing the damage created by the handling of this case. We strongly agree with Mimi Chapman, Chair of the Faculty at UNC, who wrote that “faculty voice must govern the tenure process for academic integrity to have meaning”.

Howard Aldrich, Kenan Distinguished Professor
Kenneth Andrews, Phi Delta Theta and Mathew Mason Professor
Kenneth Bollen, Henry Rudolph Immerwahr Distinguished Professor
Yong Cai, Associate Professor
Neal Caren, Associate Professor
Scott Duxbury, Assistant Professor
Barbara Entwisle, Kenan Distinguished Professor
Kathleen Fitzgerald, Teaching Associate Professor
Elizabeth Frankenberg, Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Sociology
Guang Guo, Dr. George and Alice Welsh Distinguished Professor of Sociology
Jackie Hagan, Kenan Distinguished Professor
Taylor Hargrove, Assistant Professor
Kathie Harris, James E. Haar Distinguished Professor of Sociology
Bob Hummer, Howard W. Odum Distinguished Professor of Sociology
Arne Kalleberg, Kenan Distinguished Professor
Charles Kurzman, Philip Stadter Distinguished Professor of Sociology
Ted Mouw, Professor
Lisa Pearce, Zachary Smith Distinguished Term Professor
Alexandrea Ravenelle, Assistant Professor
Jessica Houston Su, Assistant Professor
Karolyn Tyson, Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor
Kate Weisshaar, Assistant Professor

Comments are closed.