Joseph Bongiovi

Dissertation Chair: Arne Kalleberg
Areas of Interest: Organizations; work; international and comparative, particularly Asia and Latin America; gender; peace, war and defense
bongiovi@email.unc.edu | Website | CV

 

Alanna Gillis

Dissertation Title: Major Questions: Reproducing Inequality through College Major Decisions
Dissertation Chair:
Andrew Perrin
Areas of Interest:
Higher education, stratification, gender, family, volunteering, civic engagement, transition to adulthood, culture, teaching and learning, qualitative methods
alannag@live.unc.edu | CV

 

Jonathan Horowitz

Dissertation Title: Work, Love, and Dissent: Activist Participation in the Transition to Adulthood
Dissertation Chair:
Kenneth T. Andrews
Areas of Interest:
Education, Life Course Sociology, Social Movements, Inequality and Stratification
horowit1@email.unc.edu | Website | CV

 

Laura Krull

Dissertation Title: “If we aren’t the church for you:” Patterns of Discrimination against Same-Sex Couples in U.S. Churches
Dissertation Chair: Lisa D. Pearce
Areas of Interest: Religion, Family, Sexuality, Audit Studies, Qualitative Methods
lmkrull@live.unc.edu | CV

 

Anna Rybinska

Dissertation Title: Non-normative Childbearing Behavior Over the Life Course
Dissertation Chairs: S. Philip Morgan and Yong Cai
Areas of Interest: Family Sociology, Childbearing and Childlessness, Reproductive Intentions, Demography
annar@live.unc.edu | Website | CV

 

Katherine Tait

Dissertation Title: Secure Work in the Worker-Cooperative Sector
Dissertation Chair: Neal Caren
Areas of Interest: Collective Behavior/Social Movements, Economic Sociology, Political Sociology, Sociology of Work, and Theory
ktait@live.unc.edu | Website | CV

Kate Tierney

Dissertation Title: A Sociological and Demographic Analysis of Assisted Reproductive Technology in the United States
Dissertation Chair: Kathleen Mullan Harris
Areas of Interest: Fertility, Social Demography, Family, Gender
ktierney@live.unc.edu | CV

 

Didem Turkoglu

Dissertation Title: Who Gets to have a say in Higher Education: Neoliberal Reforms, Protest, and Opposition
Dissertation Chairs: Charles Kurzman and Neal Caren
Areas of Interest: Political Sociology; Social Movements; Race/Ethnicity; Economic Sociology; Political Culture; Comparative Historical Sociology; Mixed Methods
turkoglu@live.unc.edu | Website | CV